Image for the article titled How to Stop Your Android and its Apps from Tracking your Location

Image: TY Lim (Shutterstock)

To the good dismay of enormous expertise firms, none needs their smartphones to spy on them. By default, nonetheless, our cell gadgets observe each single transfer –and share this information with different apps and companies. Luckily, as with most issues on Android, you wouldn’t have to reside with the default structure offered to you. As an alternative, you’ll be able to handle your location companies to fit your privateness values.

Easy methods to disable location utterly on Android

You’ll be able to disable location on Android in order that no location information is shared with Google or any of your different apps. To take action, swipe down from the highest of the display, then faucet Location (the icon seems as a “place arrow”). If you don’t see the situation right here, press “Edit“Or”Settings, “After which go placement within the fast settings.

Whereas this can be one of the best ways to safe your place on Android, it isn’t very handy. All apps that want location information to work, equivalent to Google Maps, merely don’t work with this setting turned off. In the event you can reside with it, you’ll be able to have a location-free Android expertise. However for many of us, we’re higher off tampering with different place settings.

To disable app location permissions

As an alternative of turning off Location utterly on Android, you’ll in all probability discover it extra helpful to handle permissions for every of your apps. After all, not all apps are the identical, so that you’ll in all probability give some apps extra entry to location and maintain again for others.

Units the course in the direction of Settings> Location> App permission. You see three classes: Allowed always, which comprises apps which have entry to your location each time they need; Solely allowed whereas in use, which comprises apps that may solely use your location when these apps are lively; and Ask each time, which comprises apps that should request permission to make use of your location every time. Faucet certainly one of these tabs to see the apps with these permissions. To vary the permission of a specific app, faucet the app, and choose a brand new choice.

Alternatively, you’ll be able to change location permissions for apps one after the other. Lengthy press on the related app on the cellphone’s house display, then press (i). Choose Permissions> Location, then choose one of many three classes above, or Deny, which is able to block the app out of your location data.

Easy methods to disable place accuracy on Android

Android makes use of place accuracy to find out your exact place; it takes details about GPS, wifi, cell community and cellphone sensor to present you location-based recommendations, in addition to present your actual place on the display. This can be helpful for some apps, however you might be uncomfortable with each Google and the related apps and companies which have entry to that information.

To disable place accuracy, go to Settings> Place> Superior> Google Place Accuracy, after which disable Enhance positioning accuracy. While you disable this characteristic, Google can solely use GPS to find out your location. Not utterly personal, but in addition a lot much less correct than normal.

Easy methods to delete and disable location go surfing Android

Location historical past is actual the way it appears like; Google retains observe of the place you go along with your smartphone to drive issues like suggestions, assist you to discover your cellphone and visitors updates in actual time. For many people, nonetheless, it’s a bit scary.

To disable location historical past, go to your Google Account Exercise Checks. Log in in case you are not already. Vsee the situation log and choose “Flip off.” Choose the popup window “Break, “And a brand new pop-up window will seem. Choose”Delete previous exercise, “And Google launches a map of location historical past; right here you’ll be able to see factors of reference for all of the locations you will have been to Google. To delete this data, simply click on on the recycle bin on the backside proper, click on within the checkbox on the popup window after which click on “DELETE CITY HISTORY. ”

You may as well select for Google to routinely delete your location historical past after a specified interval. Choose the choice below the Exercise Controls web page Delete routinely, choose the choice under Delete exercise older than, then choose both Three months, 18 months, or 36 months. Choose Subsequent to avoid wasting your choice.

To disable location sharing

When you have enabled location sharing, however you remorse sharing your keep along with your contact checklist, you’ll be able to simply flip off this characteristic. Open Google Maps, faucet your profile icon, then choose Place division. Faucet the profile of the contact you now not need to share your location with, then press Cease to substantiate.

To disable looking location permissions

Google offers you management over which one Web sites have your location data. Go to to disable web site location permission to the web site in your browser. Faucet Lock to the left of the handle bar, faucet Permits, after which flip placement off for that web site.

After all, you’ll be able to disable location permissions on your complete browser. simply observe the directions above to disable location permissions for sure apps (on this case a browser like Chrome or Firefox).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *